Home Theatre/ Pro PA installation and Setup company startup.

Jadams639

First of all, I'm sorry if this is in the wrong section of the forum. I want to start my own sound intallation company the provides services to home and commercial facilities installing surround systems, in wall speakers, PAs, Control booths, mounting TV/Projectors, and Installing automation systems (Like Extron MediaLink products). I would charge by hour plus parts, I live in Orlando FL and from my research there is not many companies around here like that, except the big box stores services, which are not as comprehensive as what i wish to offer. I have lots of experience with both HT and Pro setups in Churches, Theatres, Home, etc... and I've done my fair share of cable pulling in attics, and I'm very confidant in my skills.

Do you thing there is potential in this market?

What certifications do I need to obtain? Electrical Certifications? Etc...

I've already came up with a name and a Logo

What do you think?
Do you have any experience in this field?

Thanks in advance for your help.

First, I would decide whether you want to work in the home theater/residential market or the pro market as they are very different in terms of clientele, legal requirements, products, general approach and so on and it usually takes a big company with significant resources to effectively serve both.

What is your background? You say you have experience but what is that experience, were you with established companies that worked in those markets or were you a freelance installer or was it helping out friends and acquaintances? What do you have in terms of transportation, tools and other resources?

What form of business are you thinking of using; Sole Proprietorship, Partnership, LLC, S-Corp or C-Corp?

Especially for pro work, are you familliar with the local building codes and any related requirements?