Design How should i cut out spill from my lights

fumb3l

I do lighting for plays, events, and school band festivals in a theatre with two cat walks. Most of my lights are on second catwalk and almost always- unless Im lighting the orchestra pit- ambient light spills from the lights onto the front of the first cat walk. How can i get rid of this? The cat walk is painted a color of red which seems to reflect the light a lot so it looks unprofessional. Ill admit that i am a High School student but i do intend in going to college for this line of work. Someone suggested i put a (i call it a top hat) cover over the lekos but we don't have any. I cant seem to shutter it out. Is there something i can slide in or wrap around the front of the lens? Or is this even possible to do. I even have a similar problem with my electrics with spill onto the front of the legs curtains.

Help?

Top hats go in front of the fixture, where the gel slot is, and effectively limit the amount of spill (but potentially also coverage) that the light puts out. A half-hat does the same thing, but only covers half of the light. It's useful for cutting off architecture -- including catwalks. Both are fairly inexpensive unless you need them in multiples -- presumably all of your front of house lights might need them. Rental houses also let them out for cheap.

You can also use a shutter (inside the fixture) or a template holder (perhaps with a custom made template) which will allow you to make a strong, sharp edge if you want one. Adding blackwrap to the front of the fixture, effectively making your own top hat / barndoor, will also work, but you won't be able to get a crisp line. You could also look at adding some neutral density, or very dark color gel, to cut down on the light bouncing off the catwalk. Gel and blackwrap are cheaper than top hats, but you might not be able to use them on more than one show.