Making a Star Curtain

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting to control booth, though I have been "lurking" on the site for answers to questions for quite some time...

I am directing Shrek this fall and would love to have a star curtain for the Act 1 finale scene/song. However, because of the brevity of that part of the show, I would hate to shell out tons of money to buy or rent one. Time is not much of an issue, though, (I am in college, so I have plenty of time over the summer to build things).

Here's the thing - The High School where my theatre performs is getting new curtains, and they are donating all of their old curtains to the theatre to use how we wish (4 black legs, 4 black headers, 2 black travelers, 1 red traveler, and 1 red header). My thoughts were that I would use the black curtains to make our own fiber optic star curtain. I'm hoping to do it as "correctly" as possible, as I would like it to be something that the theatre could then have to use for future shows.

So, I guess I am asking for any advice for the process of creating it, best place to buy fiber optic strands/light sources, etc... or if this would be a complete waste of time?

One other random question: I was planning on using one of the sets of travelers and "stretching" it out flat to create a drop, however has anybody ever created a star curtain that actually IS a traveler curtain? Is that even possible?
That doesn't really affect much, but I was just wondering what my options would be.

Thank you!

Yes it is possible to have a star drop as a traveler. For Willy Wonka our theatre decided to purchase two star drop panels and hang them on the traveler track. We purchased a two color LED star drop with white and blue LEDS. I had to be a little creative with running cables to the two drops. The fact that the drapes are LED made it much easier to travel because I only had to run a 5 pin DMX cable to each drape and not have to wory about bulky fiber optic cable and fixtures.