Projected backdrops on a multipurpose stage

Has anyone found good solutions for reliable, semipermanent setups to light a multipurpose stage with projected backgrounds?

I’m very interested in all answers, but here’s my specific context: I’m an out-of-practice sound designer & engineer who volunteered to help backstage at my kids’ school (long version in my profile bio), and I’m quickly becoming the de facto TD. I don’t intend to move forward with anything without the direct input of a ME and/or LD; I just want to make sure I’m asking the right questions.

The gymnatorium (the only theater space on campus) was built in 2015 and has been set up very practically for easy, broad lighting: about 10 PARs & Lekos at about midcourt in the gym (only 6 of which appear to be aimed at the stage at this point), 2 battens full of incandescent fresnels pointed straight down, and some cyc washes in the back. (Smartbar2’s on the batten, so my understanding is that each light technically has its own address & dimmer. 12 lights each, so 6 extra dimmers per pipe for specials — I assume this isn’t considered overkill in the 21st century? Still learning DMX architecture…) There’s an element 60 board somewhere, but they mostly just use a 10-fader ETC control station in the wall. No complaints about ease of use and effectiveness for lighting most uses — choirs, talent shows, speakers. So far, so good.

However, someone immediately put up a projector on the cyc, and the expectation for the 4-6 theater productions on stage each year has been digital backgrounds ever since. This is not so good.

Some additional context about the stage (see attached picture): Roughly, the proscenium opening is 36’w x 13’h. Stage is 16.5’ deep from proscenium to cyc, with about a foot behind the cyc (the cyc is immediately behind the curtain in the picture). The wings only have about 4’ behind a straight side curtain, the one intermediate curtain & border, and a full black backdrop curtain & border.