Need Help Getting Back Into It

A3nEm4

Hi all,

I am a returning light designer that has been out of the game for about 5 years. I worked at a night club in Palm Beach for over 8 years, starting as a porter and moving to the booth. I was always good with music but things like hearing incoming songs, lighting designs/speeds, and color schemes came surprisingly natural when I started lighting. Once I made it to the booth it was essentially 8 years of craziness.

The problem with this job was that the night club was not good about giving their employees hours. I never learned how to fully program patterns and timing into the console or the physical workings of our $150k lighting system. We would used a Hog lighting console, take pre determined patterns, edit said speeds of individual lights within patterns, and give the new pattern a spot on the board list.

Since this was a night club there were never any specified song lists, the idea was to hear a bass line coming in and have the next pattern ready to go. To get more creative we gave patterns, colors, and Gobos their own spots on the board. I could cycle patterns, colors, and gobos on the fly to create the visualization I wanted. I would also use the console to constantly manipulate individual lights during the show for drops and other sudden song changes.

The reason I made you sit through all of that was to give an understanding of where I am coming from. I know lights....but I don't know lights. I would like to have the ability to get back into lighting on a professional level and work my way up to high energy EDM type shows. I feel I had the most fun and was at my best whenever we went into our EDM sets.

It was hard to find answers to these questions below within the search, the newest thread on WYSIWYG was 2015. Any information or help would be greatly appreciated.

1. What is the best WYSIWYG for practicing and learning how to program lights correctly since I don't have anything else at my disposal?