Rake angle

redmagik

Can someone explain the trigonometry to find the angle of a raked stage?
I have a designer that has given the height at the US, and DS ends and length and width of the stage.
Thanks all!

If the length is the horizontal plan dimension, then the tangent of the angle is the height (us height minus D's height) divided by the length. If the length is the actual ramp, like three 8' platforms, then the sine of the angle is the height divided by the length.

Today, I sketch it in cad and dimension the angle. Coldnorth's app would also work.

Reactions: Van
Can someone explain the trigonometry to find the angle of a raked stage?
I have a designer that has given the height at the US, and DS ends and length and width of the stage.
Thanks all!
Actors Equity will have guidelines specifying the maximum rake angle upon which their members are permitted to work.
Never having been a performer, or Equity member, I've no knowledge of the acceptable angles but any Equity member should have no trouble finding this info' for you in their membership guidelines. You may want to know this prior to construction.
Toodleoo!
Ron Hebbard.

From our wiki entry raked stage :

This rule applies to LORT theatres. If you have anything smaller than a LORT you MUST consult your with Equity Rep. They will approve a waiver for you or not. Also the Rake Rule applies when it's a whole stage or a Major acting area. It doesn't apply to incidental areas or transitions.

Let me clarify: When I say this rule applies to LORT theatres what I mean is that under other Equity contracts, for theatres smaller than LORT D you are "not allowed" to have a rake, without a wavier from Equity and the Cast. Again this is Equity, not an other 'Legal' code

Last edited: