recording services

halstonb

Good morning / afternoon / evening / night (whenever you happen to be reading this.)

I work for a church in the clearwater Florida area, and we are beginning to record and stream our services. currently I am using a canon Gl2 to record to tape while streaming to USTREAM. is there a better way to be recording, is anyone out there doing this and knows a better way or set up. we are not able to spend much money right now but I would like to make some improvements in the future, what should I be looking at doing? I am new to the video side of all of this so any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated.

I also wanted to know if anyone out there is using a video hosting service and what that would be. I have used podbean in the past but that was for audio only. I have been editing and uploading the videos directly to our website but it eats up a lot of space.

Last edited by a moderator:
I used to work for a church and we would record all of our services to CD. We also did a live broadcast once a week. All of the recording/broadcast went through a separate console taken from a split, and required a separate operator to build the mix. This is the best way to do it, but you're probably not ready to go there yet, so here is my advice:

Get a CD recorder and/or a computer with a line input and record the main mix out of the console. Track increment the CD as you go and by the time it's finished finalizing at the end of the service you'll have something that is ready to be duplicated and distributed. This is the easiest way, but there are many other methods all the way up to multitrack recording through a splitter and separate preamps. I think you're looking at the simple approach, but if you're want something different please let us know and we can make other recommendations.