Rope Cleat

kicknargel

I'm working in a dead-hung theatre and looking to fly some medium-sized stuff, say 50 lbs max. Of course I need to tie the lines off at the wall. Does anyone know of cleats that are rated for lifting? I can find plenty of cast iron, galvanized boat cleats that I'm sure would be fine, but it would be great to have something made in the USA, rated, stamped and insured.

Notice: I have no rigging experience. Take what I say here with that in mind.

However, it would seem that cast iron is a bad material for this application, since it's brittle. (the cast iron c-clamps are unrated)

Isn't this what a pin rail is for? A suitable frame, of structural steel, say Unistrut, bolted to the floor, sounds like it would work admirably here. And it has a load rating.

Notice: I have no rigging experience. Take what I say here with that in mind.

However, it would seem that cast iron is a bad material for this application, since it's brittle. (the cast iron c-clamps are unrated)

Isn't this what a pin rail is for? A suitable frame, of structural steel, say Unistrut, bolted to the floor, sounds like it would work admirably here. And it has a load rating.

This is getting into the realm of TOS violation. If you have no experience don't attempt to post info as to how to do it.

My suggestion is to call around to the local theatrical stores, they will be able to help you not only find a dealer but possibly help make it easier for you to do what your talking about.

Just as many have said before taking rigging info from a forum where you can't be 100% sure about backgrounds and actual knowledge is 100% dumb, NO offense intended.

The reason riggers get paid the big dollars is they know that its not just where and what tools to use to attach it but, they also know the intricate math involved. Anything over 25lbs. and not being attached to a batten with multiple points and i would call someone who is more experienced.