Screen Spanning with Projectors

I am the lighting designer for our school's production of 'White Christmas', and I am current trying to figure out how to set up two projectors to project images onto our stage's back wall. The biggest issue is how to trick our Mac into thinking that the two projectors are really one big screen, as Keynote does not support presenting across multiple screens. Our budget is low, so purchasing a device like Matrox's DualHead2Go is not an option, I'm instead looking for a software solution to solve the problem. Any help or advice would be appreciated!

I know we used Isadora to do something similar. I have little experience with it, but I know we drove 3 projectors and our display on a mac pro.

The issue that you are dealing with is taking a single output and splitting it into two different images (that are later combined to create one image). Since you have a low budget, I expect that your projectors are also more in lines with boardroom projectors, am I correct? I think that the Matrox is probably the cheapest way to do this.

How do you plan on blending the images? Or are you planning on just butting up the images without a blend?

I Agree that the cheapest way to do this is using a dual or Triple head to go box.
Perhaps you can rent one. My recommendation (based on your budget) would be to create a black stripe between the 2 screens so you dont have to try to align the two images. this could be done using a painted 1x2 or even gaffers tape. most people will just ignore the line.

Stewart

Does your Mac have multiple video outputs, not multiple connectors or formats but literally multiple outputs? If not then a software solution doesn't seem feasible without some additional hardware.