Stage brakes and slipping construction standards

I remember when I was a baby tech, it was possible to get real, solid wagon brakes. What is currently available, however, tends to do stuff like
proxy.php

Anyone know a good brand that won't break the bank? High school theatre TD, so budget is always a concern, but there has to be something better out there.

Last edited by a moderator:
I use to use de-sta-co. Can't speak to current quality.

What manufacturer and rating is the failed one?

I'm going to have to dig through receipts; they, too, were inherited. I've been lowballing their loads in light of that, just using them to lift the wagons for kitbashed friction blocks before there's any cast movement, but it's possible I need to go even lower.

I don't think wagon brakes are really meant to lift a platform several inches, but just keep it in place. There's are also more heavy-duty de-sta-co with more parts cast/forged rather than formed. Explore their website, there are waaaay more models than we are used to as "wagon brakes".

I don't think wagon brakes are really meant to lift a platform several inches, but just keep it in place. There's are also more heavy-duty de-sta-co with more parts cast/forged rather than formed. Explore their website, there are waaaay more models than we are used to as "wagon brakes".
The casters already have a fair amount of height, so the brake is only really lifting the wagon about a half inch beyond that. The ones I have definitely don't keep a unit in place on their own.

I'll definitely check them out- another issue I've run into is that the only brakes I've found that aren't way too tall to be used on conventional wagons aren't rated for more than 150lb or so. Building all of my wagons out of 2x6 or 2x8 just isn't feasible- cost increase aside, my director would pitch an artist fit at the aesthetic change.