Stage brakes and slipping construction standards

I saw an interesting modification idea in one of the trade mags a while back. The user took two heavy duty breaks and bolted one to each end of a length of 2x4, countersinking the bolts to allow only the face of the board to touch the floor. They then welded a rod to the handles of the breaks to allow them to be set down at the same time. This gives you much bigger surface area for stability and strength. I tried to find a photo but couldn't..... and I don't have a chance to draw it out.... So I apologize if my description isn't clear...

I can't wait to give it a try myself though!

This is the method I use - has sure helped reduce the amount of bent wagon brakes. I found the hint here: http://www.communitytheater.org/forum/forum_posts.asp?TID=4463
I cut-n-pasted David McCall's method and made a PDF for my shop....

Attachments

• Beefy Wagon Brakes.pdf
    91.4 KB · Views: 309
I remember when I was a baby tech, it was possible to get real, solid wagon brakes. What is currently available, however, tends to do stuff like
proxy.php

Anyone know a good brand that won't break the bank? High school theatre TD, so budget is always a concern, but there has to be something better out there.
Call me old school, but after going through a bunch of bent and broken brakes like the one above for a high school production, I pulled out a crow bar and a 2x4 block of wood on a string at each corner of the wagon. Use the crow bar to lift the wagon up, slip the block under and it's done - no movement at all!. end of scene, crow bar lift, pull block and place on wagon (or in a pocket on the back of the flat) and roll the wagon away. the string keep the block handy, but some stage hands just put the block in their pocket and use it on the next wagon set. Best part... blocks are cheap, easily replaced, reusable, found in every shop !!!