Technical Director Salary

SweetBennyFenton

I know this is an awkward subject to bring up but I know of no better group to bring this awkward question to. This community is so very supportive.

I have been asked by the college I work for to find out what salaries other schools are paying for positions like mine. This is part of a process that may very well significantly affect my level of pay.

If anyone would be willing, I will describe my position and if you have a similar position I would be so very grateful if you would private message me with information on your salary. Or, if people are willing to simply let me know the range of salary they would expect for a position like mine.

I am a Technical Director and Professor of Technical Theatre at a small, but well off private liberal arts college. I have only been working as a TD for 3 years now... so I'm still fairly new to the job.

I run our scene shop and oversee the building of 4 to 6 shows in a year. This includes training an all-student crew in carpentry and electrics. My crew consists of payed workers as well as students working for class credit. My crew ranges from 20 to 30 students in a given semester.

I teach three classes a year. Two sections of a 2 credit class that is an introduction to technical theatre as well as one section of either Lighting Design or Advanced Stagecraft. So... I teach 8 credits worth of classes per year as well as another 2 or 3 credits in independent studies.

I am also the resident lighting designer for the college. This means I design 2 to 4 shows per year.

I am also the resident sound designer, meaning I design sound for 4 to 6 shows a year.

Any information you would be willing to share with me would be very helpful. Thank you in advance for helping a very grateful (and probably under payed) TD.

Tell them I make 1 Million dollars! < doing my best Dr. Evil>
Hey tell them to grab a copy of the TCG salary Survey. I don't know if ESTA publishes a similar document.