Technical Script Analysis Info

Hello all.

I am a new Technical Theatre teacher in Albuquerque, NM. I am interested in really teaching my students some basic technical script analysis skills and wondered if anyone had any resources they would share or recommend? Thank you in advance.

Karn

A good way to start is by giving students a script and having them notate required props, and lighting as stated in the script itself and notate things that should be required but not stated. Such as if a scene has actors smoking, an ashtray is stated as a prop but is required is an example. Such activities can help students think more about what is required for a production.

I agree with EustaceM. Choose one aspect of the production and have student analyze a script for it. I would break it up into a couple sections, personally. For each item/effect the student should justify of why they think a production would need that. This can range from a line reference to a well thought out short paragraph defense of their choice. I have a couple different analysis outlines that various teachers have provided me for class assignments I could pass along if you PM me, but they generally follow this pattern:

1) What does the dialogue of the script specifically call for? These points can generally be just a check-off list as you evaluate the student's work and doesn't require more than a page/line reference.

2) What do you infer is needed (not explicitly stated in dialogue)? These are things mentioned either in stage directions or that would accompany an item/point mentioned directly in the script. These may require a line reference and a short defense of the item/effect. An example if we're looking at sound design analysis: If a character mentions a flash of lightning just occurred, you could infer that there should be a rumble of thunder occurring around the same time.