VW Symbol help

xander

Forgive me if something like this has already been asked, but I did a search and didn't find anything.
I am very new to VW, bought archonCAD tutorial (shameless plug because I think it is pretty good) and have been teaching myself. So, my question is how can I edit a symbol? I am using the libraries that come with VW. I have run into two separate instances in which I want to change something.

First case: in the "Lighting Positions" library, I am using some "pipe" symbols. I like the symbols rather than just drawing a line, double line, or rectangle because then you get options like auto numbering and auto fill in of instruments' hanging position. However, the pipes come in 30', 40', 50', etc. and I would like something in between. Can I make them longer or shorter? I tried editing the symbol and all it will let me change are the inserting parameters.

Second case: when I put my first instrument on the page (a S4 Jr Zoom) I found that some of the info that was automatically filled in in the Object Info palette was either wrong or just not my preference. It would be great if I could actually change the resource file so that I only have to do it once and not for every instrument I add, plus for any draftings I do in the future. Editing the symbol only allows me to change its 2d/3d physical attributes or insertion parameters, not the information the symbol carries with it.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Tim

I am running VW 12.5 so you mileage may vary.

To edit pipe length- in the resource browser right click on the symbol and select edit and when prompted select 2d or 3d. Make your changes and then click Exit Symbol.