Network Redundancy at Festivals

Alex QP

Hey everyone,

I had an issue while doing a festival run this summer, my gear is as follows:

2 x MA3 at FOH (mode 2)
2 x MA3 NPUs (mode 2)
2 x proplex network nodes
2 x managed switches. - Running a trunking redundancy loop

So this is my first time using manged switches and trunking redundancy, I got a quick rundown in the shop and got everything working before heading out on the road. I hit my first festival and the managed switches don't want to accept any external unamanged switches into the network. (I assumed because they are not part of the trunking system it gets dropped out and ignored) so that's fine, I just bypassed my trunking system and plugged my NPU's and nodes straight into the house dimmer beach and away we went. Show went fine.

Festival 2 - I automatically did the same thing, just bypassed my managed switches off the bat and tested everything, it seemed to be ok for the first bit. But then we got caught in an upload loop to our NPU's during changeover. We basically restarted every piece of equipment we were using and got it stable with 5 minutes to spare. First half hour of the set went fine and then the same error persisted. Ultimately we had to turn half the rig off, painful but it was a daylight set so not completely horrible but still painful.

Anybody run into this problem with NPU's? I've not had a chance to recreate this at the shop but it might need to have the software reinstalled.

Also how do you all set up redundancy for touring acts for festivals? Is there a way? I'm thinking of just using some good unmanaged switches to run everything.

Thanks for reading,

-Alex QP

I'm not a lighting person, but I'll take a stab at two parts of your question. The exact model of your switches would be helpful information, however it isn't completely necessary --