Control/Dimming Eos family: Workflow tips.

TheTheaterGeek

EOS Addict
Premium Member
Fight Leukemia
I am an EOS Family programmer, currently working on tightening up my process. I thought I would reach out and see if you guys had any ideas or suggestions.

Clay

I worked at a LORT B theatre as the AME for the 2014-2015 season. My duties included anything that related to the console (ETC Eos Classic), and many things that didn’t. It’s probably more information than you’re looking for, but I figure I might as well write it all up:

The ME would dimmer the plot and then input the dimmer into Lightwright. I’d deal with any additional DMX and power runs as well as fitting the DMX devices for that show into the console outputs. Those would then go into Lightwright as point units so that I can patch them easily later. At this point, I would save a private copy of the Lightwright and work off of this for my console import.

I use query a lot. It’s a huge timesaver for a large number of things, and it’s best used in conjunction with a Lightwright import. First things first in this private Lightwright file is cleaning things up, and shortening names for the console. It’s unnecessary to query “ETC Source 4 36 Degree SeaChanger”, when “S4 36*” or “SC” works just as well. (As a side note, I assume that every show I program will be worked on by someone else. Consistency, labels, and simplicity are incredibly important!) Positions get changed from “LS #6 3RD ELECTRIC” to “LS06”. Currently in Eos 2.2 you can only import 4 queryable textfields, I typically picked: Position, Instrument Type, Purpose, Color.