New lighting board for a high school

dvyjones

I'm a part of the auditorium staff at a Portland High School, and we have a really old lighting system. The control console and dimmer units are EDI (who's out of business AFAICS), and the control console is definitely well used. The patch keyboard requires it's own technique to be used. If you push a key too slowly, you get "444" instead of just "4". However, push it too quickly, and the key pops out. Several of the sliders are missing the little plastic handle on them, and there's other parts falling off as well. The dimmer units seem to be working fine. The auditorium staff have been wanting a new lighting system for a long time (I've only been here since September '10, and I'm only staying until June, since I'm an exchange student), but the problem is that the school district is low on money (we're not allowed new light bulbs unless we have looked absolutely everywhere for new ones). I might be able to get a new control console, but replacing the dimmer units I think is out of the question. Therein lies one of the problems: the dimmer units use some kind of funky proprietary format (I think I know how it works, but I haven't really tested it yet). So to use a new control console, which I imagine will be using DMX, we need some kind of converter.

Here's another thing: In a weak moment, before I knew too much about this, I sort of promised to make a computer program to do the job of the control console. However, I now realize how complex a control console is, and how little chance there is I will finish one by mid-June. So what I'm thinking of now is to make my own converter from DMX to the funky format of the dimmer units.

So, I have a couple of questions: