5 minutes of panicking yields 5 minutes of pride

snarefire

So, im relatively new to theater, having not done real work in a theater since highschool (3 years ago) Many things if not all are still hazy to me. thus my pride in my little work. I work part time with a theater, many of its shows are one weekend or two weekend ordeals, with small cue list. So i come in open the doors, turn on the dimmers, load the show, and check the sound system. No problems until the house is loaded, and the clients tech realizes that the show is not the same. Turns out over the week we had been out, someone had opened the clients show and written their own overtop, going from about 20 cues, to 250. Wow what fun, writing cues with a full house, in 15 minutes, when im not a real tech for this theater at all...... Wooh! any similar expereinces?

Nope, I always carry a disk with the show (or flashdrive), as I'm sure you've now learned to do :mrgreen:

Welcome to CB! Hopefully you can learn a few things to save you from future panics, I know I have!

I had to redo a 100 cue show but since I was the designer it was no big deal. I just came in one day and went through the book and re-did it. It was easy since I designed it.

I would have carried a disc, or flash, if i had designed the show. According to my boss no one had been in the theater since the last show, so according to his theory there was no need for me to worry. As of now, i have set up a copy of horizon on my computer complete with patching and submasters so that if i have to redo a show its not a big deal. Though from now on a copy will be saved on my email, computer, and show computer

Never had this happen. Most decent consoles will also let you set the showfile as read-only, preventing accidental overwrites, which is also great when dealing with a "basic_lighting_when_we_dont_want_to_pay_someone_to_run_theIevent.spf" type file where the "operator" might not know what they're doing.