The above Ad will no longer appear after you Sign Up for Free!

Amps and Volts important to a Lighting Designer?

Discussion in 'Education and Career Development' started by derekleffew, Apr 26, 2009.

1. derekleffew

derekleffew Resident Curmudgeon Senior Team Premium Member

Just found this quote from Tom Skelton's obituary, full text here:
    It jives with Gilbert Hemsley's thoughts (previously discussed in this thread: http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/education/10913-college-university-technical-theatre-major.html ):
    Agree/disagree? What's more important to a designer, electrical calculations or Picasso's expressionism?

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 27, 2009
  2. gafftapegreenia

gafftapegreenia CBMod CB Mods

Prop-tart
    Everything.

3. theatre4jc

theatre4jc Active Member

Maybe I'm different but I'm the resident designer at my facility and also the ME so if I didn't know electrics I'd be in trouble.

4. cprted

cprted Active Member

I agree. I have a history degree and I feel it makes me rounded and gives me a broader skill set and a better understanding of the world around me, for which I am grateful.

Of course this is not to suggest that electrical calculations are unimportant. Far from it.

5. willbb123

willbb123 Active Member

I am the same thing. I think with the economy that is going to become more and more common. I basically have do anything that needs do be done, design, ME, rigging. I've had to stop programming the board, run onto stage and plug in a guys guitar amp.

I definitely see how knowing history would help you. But you cant just bring in a history major and expect him/her to design a show. I think it would be easier for a designer to research the time period, then it would be for the history major to design.

6. seanandkate

seanandkate Well-Known Member Fight Leukemia

Educator