AP Classes

chris325

What advanced placement classes would you recommend for someone who is interested in majoring in Theatre Design with an emphasis in Lighting Design? I already have plans to take AP Physics, and if my school does add an AP Theatre History course I will likely take that.

I am a Sophomore and am looking strongly at the theatre programs at Depaul University and also, Oakland University in Auburn Hills. MI (If anyone here has had experience with OU's theatre program any experiences/tips/etc. would be greatly appreciated.)

Honestly, depending on what the college's graduation requirements are, I would recommend taking as many maths/sciences/histories etc. that you can that will apply to required classes, freeing up time in your college schedule for more practical classes.

I second what Marshall said. The best decision I made in high school was taking AP Chem. It got me out of 8 credits in college. If you're not going to a science and engineering school like I did, humanities credits are also useful because you'll probably want to spend more time working on theater and less time dealing with general requirments.

More and more high schools are starting cooperation programs with colleges where in the 4 years or sometimes 5 the graduating student gets the High school diploma and has completed 2 years of college, and sometimes an AA degree. For the better student, the last two years of High School typically are not very challenging and could be better utilized with actually taking college courses. AP classes are great, but see if your high school has any program with a close by College where you could substitute actual college classes.

AP classes typically let you waive a college class, and take a higher level class, but typically don't actually give you a college credit, but actual college classes that you take at an college can be transcriptional and can be actual transfed credits to the college of your choice.