Hello! I'm a sound engineer that has evolved into also doing lighting design and am now the TD of a somewhat out of date but major museum theater space. I've been planning an upgrade to intelligent lighting for some time now and I am fairly confident with what I've designed for the space, but I am stumped by a couple of things. First, has anyone found a good way to keep motorized electric lighting systems over a stage from swaying when a moving light is fixed to them? I have yet to test a mover on our electrics, but I imagine this would be an issue. Also, I've received a quote for this humongous purchase, but it's of course already reaching my budget limit before I've priced the PowerCon cable I will need to run these lights. Does anyone have any tips for how much I should expect a company to come down on their pricing? Our museum has had an account with this supplier for some time now and this is not an every day kind of purchase, so I imagine I can talk them into some kind of discount? I have had rather bad experiences in the past being a sound WOMAN and trying to convince some dude that I know what I'm taking about and that I don't need them to upsell me anything, so I suppose I have some fear I'll deal with this attitude again when buying lights. If anyone can give me some kind of spectrum for what is normal to expect a supplier to come down from a $95k price point to something closer to an $85k range, or to come down at all, I would be super grateful. Thanks in advance!

If this is indeed for a "major museum", I cannot believe their purchasing department would not require complete specifications and a bid situation with a minimum of three vendors.
Or at the very least multiple price quotations, hopefully itemized as well.

Natasha

The first thing I would ask ( because this is always my first question is 'Why intelligent lights. What are you hoping to gain from them" . That will greatly affect what makes sense for your space.