Are Hazers bad for actors?

vincecr

I was talking with one of the theatre supervisors at my school and when I recommended to use a hazer in our show they said that hazers are bad for the actors voice and even though its supposed to stay high up it will cause the actors not to sing well. I've never used a hazer before. Is this true? Does this pose a significant threat to the voices of actors.

Last edited:
Actually, haze doesn't necessarily stay high up. It's designed to be evenly suspended in the air on all levels.

I once rented a Neutron XS for a musical and the rental house guaranteed that it wasn't harmful to breathe under normal conditions. I'm not sure of the validity of that guarantee, but I do know that we didn't get any complaints from the singers or vocal directors. I've found that when people cough in the presence of fog or haze, it's usually a psychological thing. Surely, the stuff they're breathing when crossing the street is much worse.

I did a long tech-in once where we inadvertently ran a haze machine the entire time. We had the console at the mid-house position and when we finally brought up the house lights, we found that we could hardly see the balcony. We couldn't tell there was anything in the air otherwise -- it was just after the house lights revealed how much haze was in the air did some people get that urge to cough.

Based on no science, just personal experience, I think when there's a heavy haze in the room, the air feels drier and might cause some vocal complications. By heavy haze, I mean you can't see more than several feet in front of you -- the sort of haze that works well in small rooms of haunted houses but would be terrible to use in theatres.