Beefy Remote Controlled Tea Table

ThreeWatt

My TD wants me to create a remote controlled "magic" tea table for a childrens play for one of our neighboring theaters. Although he excels at scenic design, when it comes to common sense he could use some work. He bought this little RC toy car to facilitate movement, but it can barely take the weight of the table without snapping its axles in two, much less move the load under its own power. Has anybody here had do something similar? Did you use a really big (like 1/10 scale) RC car? Or something custom made?

I'm a little out of my element here, I have some experience repairing electronics but I mostly do board programming and lighting maintenance. I have 5 days to get this working.:neutral:

I thought of that, but I think it'd be too awkward a spectacle, the table has to steer as it moves along and tie line would limit that pretty badly. I'm wondering if there's something like a heavy-duty RC chassis kit that I could buy and mount to the table. I'm not sure what my budget is, maybe $500?

The table weighs about 25 pounds. The local hobby shop said they don't have anything that can move that much weight.

That video was really helpful, I'm going to try to shoot for this if I can get the parts and get it built in time. The worlds first RC fighting tea table.

It gonna serve rage tea.