Control/Dimming Consoles out there

mikebowen

Hi all
I'm new to here for posting, but have skimmed the forums in the past. I am TD of a small (300ish seat) producing house on the west coast of Canada.
I am starting to look at new lighting control and am wondering what's out there. We are presently running express/emphasis and I am not very happy with it. We have mostly coventionals in the rig with a small amount of automation. We are not a roadhouse, and basically do not do rock and roll at all.
I have specs on the ETC Element and Ion coming, so are there any comments on those two consoles? What else is out there that is theatre friendly and reasonably priced?
For reference, the last time I ran a console for a living it was an Express, which I loved and I couldn't believe it when the stopped producing that whole platform.
Thanks in advance
Mike

We've got an Ion at my church and it's been wonderful. We run mostly conventionals on our services but we're adding increasing amounts of LED's and movers. The Ion handles this very nicely. It's interface will also be very familiar to anyone who has run a console in the Express family.

...an Express, which I loved and I couldn't believe it when the stopped producing that whole platform.
We (some, at least) couldn't believe it either, see To scene, or not too scene; alas poor Express.... But the Element has proven to be a formidable replacement, which actually does more and costs less. http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/news/11877-etc-element-demo.html .

The only other real contender for price and features would be a Strand Palette of some flavor, http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/...37-report-strand-palette-lighting-boards.html .

See also the thread: http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/lighting-electrics/14564-help-me-pick-console.html .

EDIT: Oh, and Mike: Welcome to CB. You've obviously come to the right place. Lots of opinions and experience here.:lol:

Last edited: