Consulting for Art Installation

Hey everyone,

So I'm consulting a Museum in DC on an art installation project they have in mind. It seems easy enough, they just want a dvd to play on however many televisions they have. I was just going to take a dvd player and split the signal up to them.

Basically, I was wondering if this was the "normal" way to do it. I know that's kind of a subjective question, but seeing as this is my first time doing any sort of consulting work, I just wanted to know what other options would be. I only know of the simplest way to do it based on my previous experiences, but I was just curious if anyone else had any other input, or possibly any other tricks in a consulting kind of world. Maybe even some resources that might provide me with a little info to know what I'm going in to.

It seems that it would be a good second field to get into in order to try and support myself for doing projection design for theaters.

It seems easy enough, they just want a dvd to play on however many televisions they have. I was just going to take a dvd player and split the signal up to them.
What kind of video signal are you working with and by "split the signal" did you mean just physically hardwire split it, use a Distribution Amplifier or convert it to RF and distribute the RF signal using splitters and taps?

For example, if "DVD" is potentially Blu-Ray or a computer and you want to distribute an HD signal, then that pushes you into working with HDMI and HDCP, which can have numerous implications. In comparison, if it is composite video out of a DVD player going to eight or fewer displays then a simple, inexpensive DA may work.