Career Advice Continue working, go to school, or both?

MrMagLit

Hey CB, sorry if this is a repeat of similar threads. I know it's a common story, but I figured that ever situation is different so it's worth making my own. Please feel free to refer me elsewhere if I'm clogging the forum!

So, I'm half way through grade eleven at this point. I'm an intern technician for a local theatre, volunteer technician for another, and lead tech at my high school. Recently, I was hired to work for a professional sound installation, contractor, and rentals company that operates on my side of the country. For the most part, my duties are to look after a small theatre that is owned by the city, who's contracted the company to run it. Sometimes I also find myself doing repairs to the rentals inventory in the local office.

It's a large company that is known for their installs in most of the larger venues in the area. The management team seems to like the work I do and they want me to continue as a full-time employee with them after graduation. Additionally, the local theatre that I'm an intern at would like to hire me out of high school.

I think I've gotten a fair kickstart in the industry for my age, but I'm not sure if I should just keep working after high school, or go to university. I guess it's the classic experience versus education debate, so I was hoping for some wiser opinions.

My area of expertise has always been electronics. I'm a hobbyist in my spare time. Does anyone know if an electrical engineering degree is practical in this industry, or an overkill waste of time/money?

Thanks!