Control orion 16 channel dmx controller with reaper

Dannyhubert1986

Hi everyone! I'm new to the dmx lighting game and I am having issues controlling the scenes in my orion 16 channel dmx controller with reaper via midi. The manual states the controller will only respond to midi commands on the modi channel which is set to full stop. What does this mean? I am trying to control the scenes with reaper via the midi input on the dmx controller. I need this working by September 1st.

Turns out there is no midi function for this controller. I emailed the orion/yorkville and they responed
"We have received word back from the manufacturer about this previously, despite being documented in the manual as to how to change Scenes & Chases via MIDI notes (5-pin MIDI In), this function has not been implemented in the hardware. Therefore, please ignore the MIDI function as a method of control as it does not work. There is no planned firmware update / workaround for this from the supplier and the midi function is simply for transferring data from one controller to another. Especially useful for rental departments."

I've tried using freestyler to control my lights but the fader won't turn my lights on. I'm looking for midi and dmx hardware to program a light show with.
Ill take Any suggestions On what hardware to get or how to get freestyler to talk to my lights. All of the tutorials make this look so easy but nothing works.

Hi, Welcome. A Few questions : What fixtures do you have? Are they patched correctly in freestyler? What DMX adapter are you using, and is it selected properly. Did your lights respond with your orion controller?