digital noise

Zawie

Hi folks

I'm new to Controlbooth and I could use some advice. We have a Dell laptop playing through an M-Audio Fast Track Pro then a Mackie 1202 Mixer to the power amps and speakers. The problem is digital noise. It's not 60Hz hum, it changes as the laptop accesses the disk etc. How do I get rid of this noise?

Thanks

Welcome.

The first thing to check is if it goes away when the laptop is unplugged from the wall, running on battery.

OK, I'll try that. The laptop is kinda old and I don't know how good the battery is or how long it would last, would it die before the end of the show......

Thanks

A 3 to 2 prong adapter on the laptop power supply did the trick. Tech rehearsal yesterday went very well and everything sounds great. Thanks for the tip.
Did you read the safety comments in the M-Audio response and contact the manufacturer of the power supply before lifting the ground?
Not all devices work correctly with lifted ground and might overheat and/or create an electric shock hazard. Before lifting the ground on any device, please contact its manufacturer in order to find out if this device will work properly and if it will create an electric shock hazard under these conditions.
and
IMPORTANT: Before you proceed, make sure that you have contacted the manufacturer of the device you intend to lift the ground on. If this is not supported for this device, lifting the ground can cause damages, serious injuries or death!
Power supplies with three prong plugs are often intended to have a ground connection and lifting the ground can create a vey unsafe condition. If it is a three prong plug on the power supply then please do not lift the safety ground until you have confirmed it is safe to do so.