Drawing a Theatre in Vectorworks

Darin

One of my big projects this summer is to (finally) draw our theatre space in Vectorworks. The building was constructed in the mid-60's, and we have nothing but hand-drawn plates for the space. I have been hand-drawing all of my scenic and lighting drafting for the past 6 years, but am now converting into VW.

So I'd like to use this thread to ask some questions as I go along.

First question: Do you recommend using some of the architectural tools (slab, wall tool, etc.) to draw the overall shape, or do basic 3D rectangles suffice?

2) Recommendations for setting up Layers/Classes. It's a black box theatre, so basically a giant rectangle (with no "stage" distinct from the floor of the space). Items I would like to individually turn on/off/grey include the theatre walls/doors, the lighting grid, the I-beams (that intersect the lighting grid, the HVAC (which also interrupts the grid), the seating risers, curtains, scenery, backstage items (props tables, quick change booths) and the ceiling.

Last edited:
3) Can I have a hanging position (grid pipe) that is in several "pieces" (i.e. not a single polygon) but all the same position? I have HVAC that interrupts some of my pipes

In order to build a useful list of layers and classes for a project, think about all the ways you may wish to view the various sets of objects in the file during the life of the project; I use layers to keep groups of objects that are normally considered at the same height such as grid, deck, traps. So, everything on the stage deck is in one layer.

Then I use classes to get visibilities of related objects that are needed to create particular types of drawings, like light plot, scenic plot, audio, etc. So in the simplest sense, you have layers representing stuff at various elevations in your space and classes breaking out stuff for different types of drawings such as lighting, scenic, audio, etc.