Mixers/Consoles Figuring out a new sound system

cnnrward

So, I'm a student at PLU and we just remodeled our theatre space, so everything is brand spanking new BUT not yet set up the way it should be.

My question is about a sending audio from the sound board (a Yamaha CL5) to the backstage speakers (controlled by a crestron system). I can send the house sound successfully but I wanted to configure the mixer matrix sends so I can send audio backstage without having the house hear it.

Does anyone have similar experience with a similar setup?

pictures attached of the crestron and patch bay

Thanks in advance.

Attachments

• crestron.jpg
    crestron.jpg
    78.2 KB · Views: 257
  • patch overview.jpg
    patch overview.jpg
    120.4 KB · Views: 254
  • IMG_0388.JPG
    IMG_0388.JPG
    114.6 KB · Views: 248
  • IMG_0389.JPG
    IMG_0389.JPG
    164.4 KB · Views: 259
  • IMG_0390.JPG
    IMG_0390.JPG
    145.4 KB · Views: 266
If the backstage monitors are fed from the Crestron system, doing this would require routing a console output into one of the Crestron processors, and then programming the Crestron system to mix and route that signal appropriately. Without knowing the exact configuration of your system, I doubt anybody here can give you a definitive answer to your problem. It is unlikely that the solution you are looking for will be a simple patch change in your patch bay.

If the system is brand new, as you said, you'll probably have the most luck getting in touch with the contractor that installed the system.

Wow, quite the upgrade just looking at the Racks that got installed. Damjamkto is right, without looking at the drawings for the system I couldn't tell you what to do. Based on the installation of the racks I would say give that company a call and I am sure they would be happy to aid you in what you want to do. They MIGHT even turn over the drawings to the install if you are that inclined to figure it out yourself.