Forest, carving foam

Hi there,

I am currently one of the designers for a haunted theater. The director wants to build a haunted forest around a camping/campfire scene for one of the rooms. I have the camping part designed, but am stuck on the trees for the haunted forest.

This theater has next to no money, but there is a lot of foam sheets in the basement that I was told I could use.

I am new to the world of foam, so if someone could give me an idea or two as to how I could use this to create trees, I would be grateful.

Becca Parker

you could simply carve the trees out of foam. Depending on the thickness of the foam panels you might need to laminate them to make thicker parts of the trunk. then draw out the 'Front' of the trunk pattern. Grab a Hacksaw blade wrap a bit of tape around one end and use it to slice through the foam. once you've got thepieces cut out start laminating. put the layers together with spray 77 or or 3M's foam spray. Once you get all the foam togetheryou carve it down to the cylinder shape or trunk shape you want. Then you can wrap the foam tunk in muslin or cheese cloth. Soak the material in either latex paint or a mixture similar to VSSSD < Van's super secret scenic dope Look for the recipe in the wikki>
after your wrappings have set up you can paint and final texture your trees.

RE: cutting/carving foam
I recently saw a hot knife used by electricians to cut foam sheet insulation on Hometime. I think the show is sponsored by Home Depot, but couldn't find anything on their site. Amazon has one here:
proxy.php

Instructions are also available on the 'net for building one's own. In either case, be sure to observe all precautions and use appropriate PPE.

Last edited by a moderator: