Future Education

mbandgeek said:
back on topic now, Does anyone know a great technical theater school?

I think you need to know more about what you want to do before I can answer that question. Just running sound and light boards isn't much of a career... it's rare for an operator to make a real living. If you want a good shot at a career you need to focus more on some sort of design. I bet close to half the people on this board who have a professional career in theater don't have an advanced tech theater degree. So you really aren’t asking the right question here. You need to know more about yourself and what you want first.

Personally, I do tech for a community college. I have a Masters in Education degree and high school teaching certification but no theater degree. I learned all my tech by volunteering hundreds of hours in college to work with an old guy who knew everything under the sun about theater. I then went on to teach high school drama and trained myself on things I didn't know. Asking friends in the theater world for help when I needed it.

Currently, at the college we've been talking about creating a theater certification program. I've talked to a lot of local professionals about it and the reaction I've gotten is very mixed. I had the head prop person at one of the largest theaters in the region say, "If you're going to try to become a professional designer or T.D. you don't want to waste your time getting a degree. You need to get out there and get to work." I've had other people tell me that the only way to go is to get your Masters of Fine Arts degree. I've been told a college certification program is great because it would give students a solid starting point. I've also been told it's a waste of time as what you need to do is go find a local community there with a good tech to train you and volunteer like crazy.