Grad School - Take Two

Hey there,

I'm a young lighting designer from Maine looking into graduate schools for lighting design. I have been down this path before. I ended up in a graduate program that turned out to be awful. My professor was verbally abusive (in class, during tech, and on out of school projects) and I learned absolutely nothing from him my entire time there. It got to the point I was visibly shaking going into his class every week. One week I was talented, the next I was the worst student he had ever seen. I love theatre and I love light design. This program made me start to hate both.

Why did I stay as long as I did? The school had painted a really pretty picture and I was drawn in by that...when I got there it was a whole different story. But I was learning from my Master Electrician (she was fantastic, one of the best I have ever worked with),my other professors, and my fellow students. I had some great experiences while I was there but the bad outweighed the good 90% of the time. I understand that grad school is intense but this was ridiculous so I left.

Now I back to try again. This time I want to get it right. The biggest thing I'm looking for is a mentor that I feel comfortable talking to, that I can bounce ideas off of. My biggest challenge right now is that I'll have a great idea for a show but I wont know how to pull it off. I would love a mentor that can guide me in the right direction while letting me come to the decision on my own. I also would love a program that let's me explore other areas of lighting as well...concerts, opera, especially dance.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank You :)

First of all welcome to CB! We are always happy to help.

Are you looking to stay in the North East or are you willing to relocate anywhere if the school is right?

Second check out the CB Member College Demographics. If you have a question about a specific university try contacting someone on the list.