Help please, first sound design

Suzzi

Ok so this is my first time being a sound designer for a show and the show is called "Trust" by Steven Dietz i have no clue what I'm doing I have the music but i don't know what else I'm supposed to do

From the department of duh; read the script, several times. Know the show, know the feel of the show, that way when you talk to the director, you know what you're discussing. Talk to the director at production meetings. What kind of mood do they want to convey? Do they want a lot of extra sound effects?

Sound designing becomes easier the more times you do it. Really, the best way to learn is to just jump in and do it.

Ok so this is my first time being a sound designer for a show and the show is called "Trust" by Steven Dietz i have no clue what I'm doing I have the music but i don't know what else I'm supposed to do
That probably depends on what you and everyone else involved on the show see as the role of the Sound Designer. Will you be selecting the music and/or creating new pieces? Creating or finding effects? Developing cue lists and scenes? Are you expected to put together the physical audio system or optimize an existing system? Will you actually be operating the system during performances? Any combination of these and other tasks could be considered part of the Sound Designer role. Or they could be handled by other people in other roles. So I think the first thing is to find out just what those in charge envision for or from the Sound Designer, that way you can all be on the same page.

You should also think about things that may be an issue come bump in ie mics, how many, cables, di's, radio mics, foldback, any delay sends etc. Sound design is an odd title, because it often just inolves mixing and co-ordinating.

yes i have run a sound board before i just don't know what kind of paper work I'm supposed to do and how. We are not using mics and i have all the music and sound effects

Last edited: