How would you do this?

Shawncfer

So I'm working at a high school right now thats doing High School musical. (yeah I'm not to thrilled but it's paying :neutral: ). So they're trying to work on the ending basketball shot to make sure it's always perfect.

Im more of an electrician but my degree is still Theatre Tech so I've done some rigging which is more than the high schools theatre teacher. Well from the way she described it to me the way she wants to do it is to go to black out. Have one light on the basketball player and before he releases it turn the light off to blackout. Then have a special light on a basketball rigged from a baton that will be flown in and a special light will pop on for a second and pop off, then same thing will happen from a different baton with a ball at a different height. Then finally showing the court and someone will be above it to drop it in.

So I have two questions for you. First, whats the safest way to do this? She wants to deflate it and string some fishing line through it and then fill it with some kinda paste or something to keep it looking full even though it will have a whole in it. I don't know if thats the best idea but what do you think?

Second, does anybody have a better idea of how to go about this? Like a whole new idea all together?

I don't think filling it with paste would be required, a less messy solution would be tie a large-ish knot in some monofilament and use an air pump needle to force it inside the ball (the valve will seal around the filament). It will remain in the ball as long as it isn't pulled that hard. When it comes time to remove the string just (use pliers to) pull out the filament and return the ball to the athletic department.

...Second, does anybody have a better idea of how to go about this? Like a whole new idea all together?