Control/Dimming HX601 and HX401 lamps failing very early

SteveRR

I'm helping a friend with this, so I don't know a lot about lighting systems, forgive me for that, but I am an electrical engineer so I have some relevant background.

These lamps are on a Leprecon Litescape LWD –2400 dimmer. These lamps are rated 1,500 hours, but they are getting a fraction of that, probably less than 50 hours on average. The dimmer manufacturer isn't much help. When the lamps burn out they do not get carbon inside the lamp, the filament just melts off at both ends where it attaches to the posts, and breaks into two or three pieces. What might cause such early failures? Using a voltmeter, the voltage into and out of the dimmer seems pretty steady. Looking at it with an oscilloscope, the output is pretty severely distorted under high load (the sine wave stays flat at 0v each time it crosses from positive to negative). I'm not sure if that would affect the lamps or not. They have probably 50 or 60 lamps that are having this problem.

I don't believe the lamps are subject to severe vibration. Also, the fixtures are mounted vertically (aimed straight down), my friend tells me they are rated for vertical operation. He is now using Ushio lamps, and I believe has tried other manufacturers with similar results.

Here is information on the dimmer:
Leprecon Lighting for Professionals

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

These are 115VAC lamps I believe. What is your voltage on them? 120? 130? Do you see metalize particles on the glass when they blow?