Control/Dimming LED's blink off and on at randon times

dougemc

Hello:

Controlling 32 channels through 4-8 channel dimmer packs via DMX. Added 4 LED fixtures to the last dimmer via Belden twisted pair to XLR. P1/ ground, P2/DMX -, P3/DMX +. DMX XLR cables used to daisy chain the 4 LED fixtures and terminator installed at end of chain on last fixture. Tested numerous times and all wiring seems OK.

Using Lightfactory 2.1 through USB Pro DMX. It all seems to operate fine - BUT...

At a random time within any of our light queues one or 2 of the 4 LED fixtures will go off and then on without any apparent reason. The dimmer pack controlled "conventional" fixtures are rock solid.

1-32 are patched to the dimmer pack fixtures. 33-43 patched to 1 LED moving head, 44-54 patched to a 2nd LED moving head and 55-59 are patched for the last 2 strip light LED's (both set to channel 55 controlled identically).

It makes no sense. It must be something simple but I am pretty new to this.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions!

...At a random time within any of our light queues one or 2 of the 4 LED fixtures will go off and then on without any apparent reason.
Is it the same one or two fixtures or are they all doing it a various times? You never see a "glitch" except during a fade (up, down, or color change)? Try setting all four LED units to the same address and see if they all exhibit the same behavior.

What make and model are the LED units in question?

Some "lesser quality/lower cost" fixtures are not fully compliant with the DMX standard. I doubt LightFactory allows the user the lower the DMX speed, but that may be a solution. See also Check me here guys...(Jands Vista/Chauvet ColorStrip).

We are a church so high dollar stuff is not real possible. The fixtures are Irradiant - from China. They are supposed to be DMX compliant.

2 fixtures are identical RGB LED moving heads and the other 2 are RGB LED strip lights.

The moving heads are addressed differently.