LLC or Not

Amiers

Renting to Corporate One Fixture at a Time.
Pros and Cons and opinions.

I was talking with a guy on a strike yesterday/this morning and he said LLC is the way to go. Is it worth it if I’m just freelancing til I find that permanent position.

I have been at it for little over a year now. He said the tax benefits are better. Furthermore he said it’s like 300$ish in AZ.

I’m just having a problem committing if I end up with a real job.

Ramblings at 530am after a strike.

In my "real" life, I'm a professor of real estate and finance in a business school. LLCs are common for real estate investors, so I know a little bit about this. I am NOT a tax attorney, however, and there are nuances that may apply to certain situations (and states) of which I am not an expert.

The tax benefits of an LLC (limited liability company) actually apply to all "pass-through" entities, including sole proprietorships (which is what you are if you've never formally formed an LLC or similar entity). As an independent contractor, you should be filling out Schedule C (Net Profit from a Business) on your tax return. On this, you claim all your contract income and you can deduct all of your "business expenses." (Note that this is different from the "unreimbursed business expenses" that anyone can claim as an itemized deduction on Schedule A; those are for people who have a real job but spend money for their work that the employer doesn't reimburse. As an independent contractor, your business related expenses are fully deductible on Schedule C before your net income passes through to your main tax return.) The net income from Schedule C "passes through" as income on your tax form.

You get this "benefit" even if you are a sole proprietorship (not just with an LLC).