Design Macbeth Color Choices

mrb604

I am a high school drama teacher who frequently lurks in this forum as I am an amateur lighting designer by necessity. Next month we will be producing a production of Macbeth on a stage set up in the arena style. I have enough instruments to put 4 lights equally spaced around each area of the stage plus one overhead for downlight. My question is what colors to use. I love and appreciate what color can do in a lighting design, but there are so many choices. I am looking for color ideas. Example do we use a McCandless type method and alternate R02 with R60 and use maybe R80 as downlight? Are there other colors that you think work better for this dark tragedy?
At this point little is known about the costume colors but they will be mostly black, white, grey, and possible some army green. It would also be important that the color of blood, pops. All ideas and suggestions would be appreciated.

I think you're generally on the right track, to have one color from 12 and 6 and a different one from 3 and 9. I personally hate R02 and R60, but I guess that's a minority opinion. You want to think about the looks you need- in terms of location, time of day, mood etc and think about colors that combine in different intensities to give you the looks you need. You might not need a warm at all. As long as 12 and 6 are unsaturated you could experiment with something more interesting in 3 and 9.

As far as what to do with the top light, I would base that somewhat on what the floor is. If it's pretty dark, I often like an unsaturated top light to create highlight. Then I can go a step more saturated with my area lights. But if the floor is light, it's going to become too bright, then I'd stick with a deep blue or other (as you suggested).