High School Master Class

bobgaggle

So my high school drama teacher sister has asked me to come in a do a "master" class for her tech theater class. I'm down with that. Now, what to talk about. I build scenery and draft stuff to make money, I was a tech director at a small producing theater company for a few years and now I'm foreman at an independent scene shop. So, I could go in there and explain what I do and how to build things, but that seems kind of boring. So, I'm looking for talking points.

-Maybe I could talk about the relevance of all the stupid classes you hate and how you might actually use stuff that, "I'm never gonna use this in real life"

-Maybe talk about how pursuing a career in live entertainment can actually provide you with a living wage, if you know what to look for and have marketable skills.

-Maybe harp on paying attention to emerging technologies. Her school is brand new and has a whole "maker" lab with a 3d printer and little x carve type machines. Their tech ed teacher also runs an AutoCAD and Inventor class.

-I think I'll definitely have a "things you don't need to worry about" segment. Like, it doesn't matter where you go to college, you might not even need to pursue a 4 year degree. (side note, where she teaches has a high number of Indian immigrants, so there's a big culture of "you get straight A's so you can go to a good school and become a doctor")

OR, is this all the kind of stuff that makes a high school kid's eyes glaze over? Maybe they really just want to learn how to build a curved flat or how to make their rolling platform not zig zag around the stage like a shopping cart with a bad wheel?

Any chance that they can come to you? They definitely retain more when they are out of their element, and it would be awesome to see a shop that exists only to build scenery.