Minimizing Waste

SBC

The Theatre industry creates a large amount of waste in the name of making art. I am curious to learn how everyone else minimizes waste.

When cutting gel for a show I save the tissue paper, fold it just so and it take it home to use in giftwrapping.
I always keep the strip of gel that is leftover from cutting 7.5" & 6.25" frames. I encourage students to use them for labs, we use them to wrap around fluorescent tubes, and sometimes cut them immediately for strip lights.

Since I am a pretty good carpenter for a lighting guy I re-purposed a big pile of 3/4" plywood from a set. The shop was throwing it all away. I made a record cabinet and a tv stand.

We recycle cardboard in my venue. I always keep a few small and medium boxes in the attic for shipping items out.

We have a bin just for scrap metal. The sell price for scrap steel may not be high, but we get a few buck back and the metal stays out of the landfill.

The biggest waster in theater is the scenery department. If you are in a small educational theater or community theater with free labor building everything from wood you should be building everything from stock scenery pieces in standard sizes. Store them and reuse. If you need advice on how to convert to stock scenery get: The Stock Scenery Construction Handbook. You can reuse the same flats and platforms for decades. When flats get worn, replace the muslin and keep going. Platforms get too many holes in them, replace the offending part and keep going.