Vintage Lighting Mole Richardson - Type 205?

AZ Vtg L

Hi Guys,

I came across a few of these Type 205's that I'd like to restore. But I haven't been able to find anything about them, not even a pic. Could someone provide some info, especially a picture of a complete fixture?

Now, I restore vintage industrial lighting (porcelain enamel, explosion proof, and industrial holophane etc), but I'm an admitted newbie when it comes these vintage movie lights. I don't even know the terminology so please bear with me.

I've enclosed a pic of the back of the fixture. I'll get a pic of the front tonight.

Thanks for any help or info you can provide.

Matt

Attachments

• IMG_1698.JPG
    IMG_1698.JPG
    425 KB · Views: 939
The front bezel is approximately 20" - so you think it once had a lens? (there are holes around the circumference of the outer edge) Its odd that I havent been able to find a pic of this unit in the Mole catalog (on their website). Do you know of any other old catalogs that might be out there?
I've enclosed pics of the front and of the tag (interesting, the serial # is double digit as are the others in this bunch).

Attachments

• IMG_1700.JPG
    IMG_1700.JPG
    315.9 KB · Views: 939
  • IMG_1701.JPG
    IMG_1701.JPG
    356.5 KB · Views: 491
  • IMG_1703.JPG
    IMG_1703.JPG
    380.1 KB · Views: 492
Have you tried contacting them directly?

It very well may be an ancestor of the modern type 8211.

It is just a soft focus "Scoop" type flood light. It was what is also known as an "open face" unit, there is no lens. Note the soft white reflector back. Looks about 18" diameter??? Used a (looks like) Mog bi-post base lamp, as a wild guess. The label says 15 amp/110v, so that would be a 1500w (I know, 110v - 15a = 1650 but there ain't no such lamp) probably a G-48 G-40 or maybe T-24, just guessing. I think it is an early version of the current 8182 before we had axial lamps to design housings around. http://mole.com/pdf/data/8182.pdf