New stage design help!!!

Hello Control Booth people!

I have very little experience in this area... I work for a charter school that is about to build a new building that will include a stage/auditorium. I'm at a loss when it comes to what we will need. Our engineer who has laid out the plan for the building does not actually design the stage himself aside from the skeleton of the room that will house it. Basically, what we have is a large room with a raised platform on one end that also includes a couple side rooms on the left and right side of the platform. What I'm looking for here is advisement on what we will need as far as lighting, curtains, sound, type of flooring, etc. To put this in perspective we are a K-8 charter school that has never before, until now, had it's own building. We have always rented space from various churches to house our student body. Any school productions have been held at other school auditoriums or in worship halls.

Any recommendations for companies that serve the Dallas area and do this kind of work are also welcome.

Thanks.

Last edited:
Welcome to CB, what an adventure you have in front of you. Spend some time just going through the many posts here, utilize the search function. But here is one of my favorite threads, and TEX is in your area:
http://www.controlbooth.com/forums/stage-management-facility-operations/28428-new-school.html
There is so much more to making a space than just a room with a platform and investing in a consultant should be at the top of your list. In the long run a good consultant can save you money, make a safe place to work and help avoid costly mistakes.
There are also a couple of dealers in your area you should visit.
Barbizon Lighting Company
Norcostco - Costume Rental, Theatre Supplies, Stage Makeup, Lighting, Dimming, Rigging Systems
Good luck with your project and as questions arise, post back here and there are many people here ready to help.

!. Get a consultant!

2. Get a consultant!