Paint Sealer Problems

Lito1942

So the theater I am working at is remounting a show and we had to repaint the set because it was just battered up on its last tour. We color matched and painted over scratches and the set looked brand new. So it was time to seal it, and when we applied the sealer to the set many of those scratches that were covered began to show through again. We thought it was because we were applying the seal with brushes, so we sprayed it on and got the same result especially with the white paint. The white paint we are using a household latex paint. Can anyone explain why this happens and if there is anything that can be done about it? Thanks

Last edited:
A few things off the top of my head since I used to mix paint for a living:

-Color matches never turn out perfect. There will always be a slight difference in the formula even if it 'looks right'.
-As an addendum to the first point, the new paint may be of a different brand or new base formulation (paint constantly changes year-by-year).
-The old paint could have become porous over the years, which is allowing it to absorb the sealer more readily.

I feel like it could be any of these things, or a combination of all three.

Les sounds on point to me, and the two of us have similar paint experiences. I'd add too that he mentioned color matches always being slightly different and that base formulas change. Even going into a store with a color you got two years ago the paint company may still have that same color but because the base has been reformulated a different combination of color might make up the new version. so it may actually be the "exact" same color but what makes that color may have changed, which could produce different results. So color matching by hand is rough because even with the precision of machines it can be tough.

I would place my money on porosity and different paint makeup. How glaring is the difference between the old and new?