Control/Dimming Portable dimmer packs

Samb

So more recently I have become the resident lighting person at more school. I have been working with electics for 4 years. I am currently trying to get my board to approve money to improve the systems. I have found a need to add possible just one or two portable dimmer packs each with 4 dimmers. For in our aud there are some odd places you need dimmers. All I have currently is 4 edition outlets and one of the bigger twist lock looking things. I am unsure if these are all on one breaker or not. I have seen some of the box looking dimmers that you just hang from rails which would work well. I am think that most likely we will be plugging fresnels or source 4 seniors or juniors into these and possibly running all the channels at once, which I don't know is possible. Anyway suggestions on these sort of box like dimmers would be great! And possibly the technical mname for them would be nice as well!

Most would call them "shoebox dimmers", but marketing might class them with "distributed dimming."
Applying full load to all the channels at once depends on the dimmer. Some allow this, others specify 600W max per channel but then give you a 5-15 for power input, limiting you to 1800W max for the whole pack. With these, if your source fours are lamped at 575W, you can only put 3 on one pack. I've seen dimmers that have a 1200W max per channel and use a removable power cord (5-15P to C13).
To legitimately load the pack fully, the manufacturer has to ship it with a 5-20 plug on the cord. You can't add one in the field, as the rest of the pack is only rated for 15 amps.

Hi there,

IMHO Shoebox dimmers are a bit of a catch 22. They seem so appealing since they're very cheap, but therefore are also made cheaply and aren't all that reliable. Makes it a bit tricky to pick one out.