Programming Discussion?

Hey CB. Thought I'd start a discussion on automated fixture/console programming.

The theatre I work in has a lot of down time, and we use it to fine tune our automated programming skills. I'll often find myself spending the better part of a Friday afternoon going through different programming exercises and make-believe scenarios. As a student I find these afternoons to be extremely helpful, and of an immense value. But, my creativity fails me at times, and repeating the same exercises continuously (while very helpful) can begin to get kind of boring. I know there are some professionals here with much more experience programming automated lighting consoles (obviously) than myself. I'm sure there are non-professionals who can say the same.

So, I ask of you (Being programmers, lighting designers, technicians, teachers, directors, fellow students, volunteers, whoever); would you like to discuss different exercises that can help make everyone a better programmer? Perhaps you have some favorites you would enjoy sharing. Perhaps you are interested in hearing how other programmers hone their abilities when they are not working on a show. I know I am.

Since I'm starting the thread, I suppose I'll post some of the simple exercises I enjoy.

[FONT=&quot]PLOT PATCHING[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Scenario: You have been hired to pre-program a console, using someone else[/FONT]’[FONT=&quot]s lighting plot.[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Exercise: Using any given lighting plot (not your own), set up a lighting console so that it is ready for a cue-to-cue. First patch all of the plot[/FONT]’[FONT=&quot]s fixtures into the console. Then proceed to create groups, or submasters, which will make programming cues easier. Since this is a fictional lighting plot, you won[/FONT]’[FONT=&quot]t have the physical equipment to actually move around and view. But, if you have visualization software you can use it to also create position, effect, and color presets.[/FONT]