Projecting onto a flat

I am currently designing a set where projection will be used almost throughout the entire show to serve as backgrounds and video clips. I have a couple questions:

First of all, I will be projecting onto the back wall of the set (basically a series of flats). Would it be best to cover the flats with some sort of fabric? If so, the fabric would have to be cheep because of our budget.

Also, it would be ideal if the wall could be black. Will projection show up on a black surface?

As you can tell, I have never designed a set using projection so I am a little new to this. Thanks for any input!

Projection on a black surface is, as you might guess, less than ideal. Do a quick search on projection material and you'll probably get some helpful hits. I think (if memory serves) someone just recently talked about a material you could use. Good luck!

You can project onto a black surface. However, if you don't have a beefy enough projector its not going to work all that well. If you are projecting and the only thing you have on is the projector (No Lights), it will work OK. I did this for a show last year and it worked pretty well. We only ran the projections during transitions and intermission. You do need to keep in mind what the black will do to colors when you design your content.

As far as the fabric goes... on the cheap... tricot.

Just to make a seamless surface, I would recommend covering it in fabric.

Now, here's the deal with projecting on to a black surface, you need a very high power projector to do it.

To get a "black" look, you can use White RP screen, with a black scrim in front of it, which gives you the projections, with a semi-black surface.
I have seen this used for a few productions I worked on, all of which were media-intensive, and it proved to be a workable solution.