"Remote View" and RFU options for Emphasis system + dimmer...

tk2k

Hey all,

Tech Background:
I'm a student at a college, and have a significant background in newer systems (EOS series) as well as straight up DMX, but this hits the inbetween section I'm not as familiar with.

We have 2 emphasis systems and 4 dimmer racks (1 and 2 per theater) but the system is all tied together, when we boot up our faceplates we select the IP/ theater of the system we want to dial into. We have a wifi network for WRFU but the WRFU was broken a few years before I got here

Problem: The console is upstairs with the server, we've been bringing it down to the deck for a while now, but I was wondering if there's some way to have some sort of remote view. In the past, I've used one of those ETC LINK remove video boxes that run over crossover cable, but I'm guessing that won't worth with an emphasis system o i can't just plug it into one of our ethernet jacks...

So at this point everything I can come up with is a hackjob. I'm thinking of setting up a VNC and plugging my laptop into the ethernet system and running a zeroconf protocol like bonjour over it for screen viewing, or some other VNC based protocol.

Problem 2: no RFU. Again, the only thing I can think of is a hack system, buying a USB to DMX adapter and running a shelled web interface so we could access it via smartphone (password protected obviously) or if I got the remote interface working use that to push buttons on the computer.... still... kinda a hack...

Problem 3: we have an ETC sensor rack with a CEM+ module, and no one here knows the administrative password. Is there a default I should try, or is this one of htose 'call etc' things?

Also, we are currently running sw version 1.8, I know ETC is up to 2.8 or something, in terms of the updating is there anything tricky?