Small home rigging project

jsyjr

I am an engineer who knows nothing of theater scenery, props or rigging. But I do have a relevant project and therefore am turning to this forum for help.

I have recently purchased a town house, previously remodeled 10 year ago. Part of that remodeling involved cutting away part of a floor and constructing a 10 foot by 20 foot two story wall of glass. The glass extends to within a couple inches of the ceiling. Mounted to the ceiling is a curtain rod from which hang erstwhile white sheer curtains. My wife swears that those sheers were put up as part of the remodeling and have never been cleaned since. I am inclined to agree as removing the sheers would almost surely require putting up scaffolding.

We are doing a bunch of work on the town house. Painting the room with the wall of glass will require putting up scaffolding so this seems a perfect time to add some means to remove those curtains.

As I said in my opening sentence I know nothing of rigging. Still raising and lowering a single curtain rod must be a trivial exercise in the rigging craft. I imagine a hand operated ratchet winch and some pulleys ought to suffice.

Can anyone here offer me any guidance? general suggestions? resources? design guides? words of wisdom?

Thanks in advance,

/john

There's no way to toss up an extension ladder to the sides of the glass, go up, and disconnect the curtain from the rod to bring just the fabric down?

There's no way to toss up an extension ladder to the sides of the glass, go up, and disconnect the curtain from the rod to bring just the fabric down?

I think he wants to be able to lower them at will to clean whenever they want to. Buying a pair of ladders will probably be cheaper than any kind of pulley system though.