Teaching teens concert tech thru a non profit

Hello i am new to the booth !!!
I am starting a non profit to teach concert tech to teens in high school. One of my family members is the CEO of the central Texas food bank and is helping me find sponsors as the concert industry requires lots of money. I am looking for advice on what equipment I should start looking at. I want to purchase professional gear not djing equipment. I want to teach these kids on what they use in venues and what the pros tour with. I will be getting a grand ma 2 full size consel next week and a avid venue d-show within the next 2 months. Also we are currently testing out 12 JBL vtx v25 line array elements with 4 JBL VTX s25 subs. They are great and I want to get more of them but I need to get more lighting equipment. Any advice is helpful and thanks in advance !!!

Last edited:
...the concert industry requires lots of money.

It certainly can!

I would mix up the selection of brands/models if the purpose is truly teaching techs how to use/tech/repair/design with a variety of concert grade instruments.

And yes- it can be pretty pricey at times!

You would probably be better off if you want to teach "what the pros tour with" to just rent everything. Everything in this world revolves so quickly that it is nearly impossible to buy something and still have it be accepted a few years down the line.

Now, there is a difference between what gear will fill riders vs. what gear people take out on tours. If you are looking for rider friendly gear, D&B, Meyer, L-Acoustics, Digico, AVID, Yamaha, Midas, XTA, Klark Teknic, Shure, and Sennheiser is where you want to look. The JBL gear is good stuff, but most riders won't take it as their first choice.

For lighting, whatever Martin and VL are making that is the newest is what people want.

Your best bet would be to team up with some rental houses and work that way. They could use the tax write off and you won't get stuck with outdated gear down the line.